The European Union’s plan to abolish mobile roaming charges — meaning citizens won’t pay extra to text, call, or use the internet in other EU countries — passed its final vote yesterday morning. The law has bee will come into effect on June 15th.

“Today’s final vote in the Council clears the path for free roaming,” said Dr. Emmanuel Mallia, the Maltese Minister for Competitiveness and Digital, Maritime and Services Economy. “When Europeans go on holiday this summer, they can enjoy the freedom of being able to stay in touch and use the internet as if they were at home. The EU is making our lives easier in very practical ways.”

This will apply to all European countries and also to Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway after the 15th of June 2017.

The law will also be useful for tourists traveling around Europe, who will be able to purchase a single pay-as-you-go SIM for their holiday and use it any country they like for no extra cost.

Dave Patterson is a content marketer. A writer by day and a reader by night. Coffee addict.