For the first time in tennis history, the world’s elite players will battle for national pride pitting Europe against The World in the Laver Cup.

Named after the legendary Rod Laver, the inaugural Laver Cup will be held at the O2 Arena in Prague from September 22 – 24, 2017 and will feature a unique format that will unite fierce on-court rivals as teammates. The finalists of this year’s Australian Open, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal, have committed to represent the Europe Team at this unparalleled event.

The tournament will be played over three days. On Friday and Saturday, there will be a day with two singles matches and a night session featuring one singles and one doubles match. On Sunday there will be a single day session featuring from one to five matches, with play continuing until a winner is determined.

Laver selected the first two team captains, Bjorn Borg (Europe) and John McEnroe (rest of the world), who will choose two players each for their respective teams. The other four players on the six-person squad will earn their spot through ATP tournaments and rankings.